Historic Preservation

Preservation in Athens-Clarke County
Athens-Clarke County presently has a total of 12 local historic districts and 44 individual local historic landmarks. In order to protect the historic character of these properties (whether part of a district or individually recognized as a landmark), a Certificate of Appropriateness is required prior to making exterior changes to a property.

Follow the links below to learn more about historic designations, Certificates of Appropriateness and the benefits of preservation. Click on the link for the Historic Preservation Commission to learn about their duties, members and meeting schedule.

If you can't find the information you're looking for regarding historic preservation in Athens, submit a question and we'll get back to you.

Current Proposed District

The portion of West Rutherford Street from the currently historic properties in the Milledge district to Stanton Way is being reviewed for potential designation.