Fines that can be paid before your court date

Certain citations can be paid before your court date. By paying your fine before your court date, you are pleading guilty to the charge(s). If you wish to plead nolo contendere to any charges, you must appear in court. 

If you received more than one citation--and any of those citations is on the list of charges requiring a court appearance--you must come to court on all the citations and cannot pay any of the fines in advance. 

In other words, if you are charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Expired Tag, you cannot pay the citation for Expired Tag before your court date, even though it is on the list below of citations that can be paid before your court date. Instead, the citation for Expired Tag must be taken care of in court at the same time as the DUI charge. 

If your citation is marked "Court Only," you must appear in court and cannot pay the fine in advance. 

PAY MUNICIPAL COURT FINES ONLINE or by phone toll-free at 1-800-701-8560. 

PLEASE ALLOW 5 BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE DATE THE CITATION IS ISSUED TO MAKE A PAYMENT. 

The Municipal Court does not accept personal checks on out-of-state banks. To pay a fine by mail, send a certified check or money order, payable to the Clerk of Municipal Court, with a copy of your citation(s) to:

Municipal Court of Athens-Clarke County
Post Office Box 1705
Athens, Ga. 30603-1705


To pay a fine in person, come to the Clerk's Office, Room 170 on the Ground Floor of the Athens-Clarke County Courthouse, which is located at 325 East Washington Street, Athens, Ga. 30601. 

Please allow one week from the date of the citation to pay your fine in person, as it takes several days for the citation to be processed by the court. 

You may pay in person with VISA or MasterCard credit or debit card; cash; a certified check or money order; and a personal check on a Georgia bank only.

THIS FINE LIST IS ONLY FOR CITATIONS ISSUED ON OR AFTER OCTOBER 1, 2013. If you were charged with an offense prior October 1, 2013, view the previous fine amounts.

VIOLATION DESCRIPTION

CODE CITATION

FINE AMOUNT, includes Court Costs and State Surcharges where applicable

Allowing an Unlicensed Person to Drive

OCGA §40-5-122*

$185

Altered License Tag

OCGA §40-2-5

$288

Camera Red Light

OCGA §40-6-20(f)

$70***

Commercial Tire Requirements

OCGA §40-8-74

$424

Cruising (1st Violation Only)

ACC §3-3-64

$85

Cruising (2nd Violation Only)

ACC §3-3-64

$110

Curfew Violation (1st Violation Only)

ACC §3-16-3 and

ACC §3-16-4

$160

Defective Equipment

OCGA §40-8-7

$151

Disobeying/ Running a Red Light

OCGA §40-6-20

$185

Disobeying/ Running a Stop Sign

OCGA §40-6-72

$185

Disorderly Conduct

ACC §3-5-1

$300

Distracted Driving

OCGA §40-6-241

$185

Distracted Driving--Unlawful Wireless Use

OCGA §40-6-241.1

$150***

Distracted Driving--Texting While Driving

OCGA §40-6-241.2

$150***

Driving in the Gore

OCGA §40-6-50

$185

Driving on the Wrong Side of the Road

OCGA §40-6-40

$185

Duty to Report an Accident

OCGA §40-6-273

$356

Expired License

OCGA §40-5-32

$185

Expired Tag

OCGA §40-2-8(a)

$185

Failure to Change Address on Driver's License within 60 Days

OCGA 40-5-33

$69

Failure to Dim Headlights

OCGA §40-8-31

$151

Failure to Display Current Decal

OCGA §40-2-8.1

$125

Failure to Maintain Lane

OCGA §40-6-48

$185

Failure to Signal

OCGA §40-6-123

$185

Failure to Yield Right of Way

OCGA §40-6-70, 71, 72, and 73

$185

Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle

OCGA §40-6-74

$185

Failure to Yield to a Pedestrian in a Crosswalk

OCGA §40-6-91(a)

$288

False Alarm Violation (1st Citation in a Calendar Year)

ACC §3-6-3 and ACC §3-6-4

$160

False Alarm Violation (2nd Citation in a Calendar Year)

ACC §3-3-3 and ACC §3-6-4

$200

False Alarm Violation (3rd Citation in a Calendar Year)

ACC §3-3-3 and ACC §3-6-4

$300

Fireworks Violation

ACC §3-5-51

$160

Following too Closely

OCGA §40-6-49(a) and (b)

$185

Glass Container

ACC §3-12-23

$70

Headphones while Driving

OCGA §40-6-250

$185

Impeding the Flow of Traffic

OCGA §40-6-184

$185

Improper Backing

OCGA §40-6-240

$185

Improper Driving on the Roadway/ Weaving

OCGA §40-6-48

$185

Improper Passing/ Passing in a No-Passing Zone

OCGA §40-6-46

$185

Improper Standing/ Stopping

OCGA §40-6-203

$185

Improper Starting of a Parked Vehicle

OCGA §40-6-122

$185

Improper Tag Display

OCGA §40-2-41

$185

Improper Turn/ U-Turn

OCGA §40-6-120 and

OCGA §40-6-121

$185

Improper Use of Central Lane

OCGA §40-6-126

$185

In a Park after Dark or after Hours

ACC 1-10-4

$50

Instructional/ Learner’s Permit Violation

OCGA §40-5-24

$185

Laying Drags

OCGA §40-6-251

$185

Littering on the Highway

ACC §3-12-1;

ACC §3-12-21; and

OCGA §40-6-249

$100

Loud Music from a Vehicle

OCGA §40-6-14

$185

Move Over Violation--Failure to Yield to a Funeral Procession

OCGA §40-6-76

$151

Move Over Violation--Failure to Move Over for an Emergency Vehicle on the Roadway

OCGA §40-6-16

$356

No Brake Lights or Brake Lights Not Working Properly

OCGA 40-8-20

$151

No Company Name Displayed

OCGA §40-8-9

$83

No Headlights or Headlights Not Working Properly

OCGA 40-8-22

$151

No Helmet/ Protective Gear

OCGA §40-6-315

$219

Noise Ordinance Violation (1st Citation)

ACC §3-5-24

$250

Noise Ordinance Violation (2nd or Subsequent Citation)

ACC §3-5-24

$350

No License on Person

OCGA §40-5-29

$28

No Tag Lights

OCGA 40-8-23(d)

$83

No Tail Lights or Tail Lights Not Working Properly

OCGA 40-8-25

$151

No Through Trucks Violation

ACC §3-3-54

$100

No Tow Lights/ No Flag on Load

OCGA §40-8-27

$151

Obstructing a Driver’s View or Control

OCGA §40-6-242

$185

Obstructing an Intersection

OCGA §40-6-205

$185

Open Container Violation

ACC §6-3-12

$100

Open Container Violation

OCGA §40-6-253

$288

Parking in a Handicapped Zone

ACC §3-3-13 and OCGA §40-6-226

$288

Passing on a Curve or Hill—21 and Over Driver

OCGA §40-6-45(a)(1)

$219

Passing in a No Passing Zone at a Railroad Grade

OCGA §40-6-45(a)(2)

$288

Passing in a No Passing Zone at or near a Bridge

OCGA §40-6-45(a)(3)

$253

Pedestrian Traffic-Control Device  Violation

OCGA §40-6-90

$288

Pedestrian Under the Influence

OCGA §40-6-95

$288

Posting Handbills

ACC §3-12-10 and ACC §3-12-11

$70

Public Intoxication

ACC §3-5-4

$210

Public Urination or Defecation

ACC §3-5-22

$210

Railroad Crossing Violations

OCGA §40-6-140 through

OCGA §40-6-144

$356

Riding a Bicycle on a Sidewalk

ACC §3-10-3

$70

Riding/ Skating a Skateboard on the Sidewalk

ACC §3-10-3

$70

Safety/ Seatbelt Violation—8-18 Years (1st Violation Only)

OCGA §40-8-76.1

$25***

Safety/ Seatbelt Violation (Adult Only)

OCGA §40-8-76.1

$15***

Smoking in a Prohibited Location

ACC §4-3-1, et. seq.

$100

Speeding 6-10 Miles per Hour Over the Limit

OCGA §40-6-181

$35

Speeding 6-10 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a School Zone

OCGA §40-6-181

$49

Speeding 6-10 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a Construction Zone

OCGA §40-6-188

$390

Speeding 11-14 Miles per Hour Over the Limit

OCGA §40-6-181

$124

Speeding 11-14 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a School Zone

OCGA §40-6-181

$151

Speeding 11-14 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a Construction Zone

OCGA §40-6-188

$492

Speeding 15-18 Miles per Hour Over the Limit

OCGA §40-6-181

$158

Speeding 15-18 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a School Zone

OCGA §40-6-181

$185

Speeding 15-18 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a Construction Zone

OCGA §40-6-188

$526

Speeding 19-23 Miles per Hour Over the Limit

OCGA §40-6-181

$192

Speeding 19-23 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a School Zone

OCGA §40-6-181

$219

Speeding 19-23 Miles per Hour Over the Limit in a Construction Zone

OCGA §40-6-188

$629

Striking an Unattended Vehicle

OCGA §40-6-271

$356

Striking a Fixture

OCGA §40-6-272

$356

Tarp Violation

ACC §3-12-7

$100

Too Fast for Conditions

OCGA §40-6-180

$185

Unregistered Vehicle

OCGA §40-2-20

$151

Unsecured Load

OCGA §40-6-248.1

$185

Unsecured Load Resulting in an Accident

OCGA §40-6-254

$288

Vehicle on Sidewalk

OCGA §40-6-144

$185

Vehicle Width Violation

OCGA §32-6-23

$100

Window Tint/ Windshield Violation

OCGA §40-8-73 and OCGA §40-8-73.1

$151

Wrong Class of License

OCGA §40-5-23

$185

Wrong Way on a One Way Street

OCGA §40-6-47

$219

 

*OCGA=Official Code of Georgia Annotated, which indicates a State law violation.

 

**ACC=Athens-Clarke County Municipal Code, which indicates a county ordinance violation.

 

***These fines do NOT include surcharges or court costs, as surcharges and court costs are prohibited by law on these charges.



 



**ACC=Athens-Clarke County Municipal Code, which indicates a county ordinance violation.

*OCGA=Official Code of Georgia Annotated, which indicates a State law violation.

Please note that prior to January 13, 2012, all violations listed in bold type were COURT ONLY. If you were charged with any of these violations PRIOR to January 13, 2012, you MUST come to court on the date listed on your citation.

***Please note this amount is for citations written on September 10, 2012 and after.